Anzeige

Battle Cry

Das ehemalige spielbox-Spielerforum
Benutzeravatar
Jens

Battle Cry

Beitragvon Jens » 23. Juli 2000, 11:13

Hallo!
Ein paar Fragen zu Battle Cry.
Wie entscheidet man Kämpfe, wenn mehrere Einheiten zusammen eine Einheit angreifen?
a) der Reihe nach oder
b) simultan ?
Werden Rückzugsergebnisse also erst dann ausgeführt, wenn alle angreifenden Einheiten gewürfelt haben?
Gelten Geländevorteile bei jeder angreifenden Einheit neu
oder werden die Würfel addiert und Geländevorteile dann nur einmal von der Würfelsumme abgezogen?
Danke für alle Antworten.

Benutzeravatar
Matthias Staber

re: Battle Cry

Beitragvon Matthias Staber » 23. Juli 2000, 14:16

>Hallo!
Ein paar Fragen zu Battle Cry.
Wie entscheidet man Kämpfe, wenn mehrere Einheiten zusammen eine Einheit angreifen?
a) der Reihe nach oder
b) simultan ?
Werden Rückzugsergebnisse also erst dann ausgeführt, wenn alle angreifenden Einheiten gewürfelt haben?
Gelten Geländevorteile bei jeder angreifenden Einheit neu
oder werden die Würfel addiert und Geländevorteile dann nur einmal von der Würfelsumme abgezogen?
Danke für alle Antworten.<
-Alle Angriffe werden der Reihe nach abgearbeitet (wie vor kurzem auf rec.games.board diskutiert wurde). Es kann also sein, dass sich eine angegriffene Einheit beim ersten Angriff zurückzieht, und Du mit Deinen weiteren Einheiten dann nicht mehr in Reichweite bist. Der einschlägige Satz in der Anleitung ist (S.6): "Each battle must be resolved before the next is started."
-Geländevorteile gelten für jede angreifende Einheit neu (wie sich aus obiger Antwort ergibt: Jeder Kampf ist ja bereits abgeschlossen, mit all seinen Würfelmodifikationen, bevor ein neuer beginnt.
Im übrigen kann ich die Errata und die house rules für "Battle Cry"
von Walt Mulder empfehlen.
Matthias

Benutzeravatar
Matthias Staber

Battle Cry: Optional Rules

Beitragvon Matthias Staber » 23. Juli 2000, 14:19

Optional Rule: Strategic Battle Plan Review and Reorganization. (use in place of discard rule) Simply this. During your turn you may discard up to ½ your unusable cards (rounded up) and draw as many new cards as discarded in lieu of taking any actions on your turn. NOTES: This may be due to an inability to play any cards, or a total change of your battle plan strategy. It simulates the Army Commander's (you) decision to reevaluate the battle and affect some (limited) changes. Most Civil War battles were only a day or two long, with Gettysburg being one of the longer ones at three days. Granted, the campaigns of the war were longer, but the actual battles were usually decided in a day or two. Battlefield communications were slow to non-existent once the battle began, but changes could and were made during battles. Weaknesses in flanks were exploited when able. Most of the scenarios start both players with 3-6 Command Cards. Allowing the exchange of ½ of your cards seemed reasonable without breaking the rules or shifting the balance too much. This usually results in at least two cards being exchanged, and no more than three (under the current scenario set-ups). It helps simulate the limited control a Commander had over implementing a change of battle plans. It also eliminated one of the major gripes I've read about players being stuck with unplayable cards for too long.
Optional Rule -- Retreats: Use any or all three options if forced to eliminate a unit due to retreat off the edge of the board. They are:
Eliminate one figure from the unit for each flag rolled causing you to retreat off the board. This would be along the same rule that allows you to do that if you are forced to retreat and cannot due to any blocking units or impassable terrain. It would also be the easiest.
Allow a lateral retreat along the back edge of the board (only), as long as the retreating unit doesn't move any closer to ANY enemy forces located on the board. If blocked by units on either side and unable to retreat laterally due to moving closer to an enemy unit, use rule #1.
A unit is lost (eliminated) if forced to retreat off the edge of the board ONLY if they were attacked from an adjacent hex. If the attacking unit is not adjacent, and forces a retreat from the edge of the board, then allow the elimination of figures as in #1 above. This simulates a close range barrage from either gun or cannon, or perhaps a cavalry charge. Your troops are routed if they were forced to retreat off the board edge.
NOTES: There are situations I have noticed in some scenarios, where your opponent could get the jump on you in a certain flank, position themselves for attack, and get lucky with two or more retreat flags before you've had a chance to advance a unit forward on that flank. If this happens within the first few turns of the game, elimination of the unit due to retreat off the board is unreasonable. Furthermore, ranged attacks against a full strength unit which is still on the back edge of the board wouldn't necessarily make them retreat off the battlefield. I hope the optional retreat rules above will alleviate some of the complaints in this area.
Optional Rule -- Sunken Roads: (use in place of sunken road rule in FAQ) The sunken road provides the die reduction benefits on attacks from any side of the road, including an adjacent (sunken) road hex.
Optional Rule -- Dismounted Cavalry: Cavalry designated as dismounted can move 1 space and conduct a ranged attack (and may not use "Hit and Run" card). It attacks at a range of 3 with die rolls of 3/2/1. Normal terrain restrictions apply. NOTE: This rule is good in certain user created scenarios.
UNOFFICIAL GOODIES and RULE EXPANSIONS
(Buy an extra game, and then use the provided hexes to make the ones below. Convert the rivers into roads and sunken roads by painting them or using paint marker pens to color them brown. Convert rivers into lakes by making the hex all blue. Convert fields into swamps by coloring blue/purple specks onto the hex.)
WARNING: Many of these terrain types are not fully tested and may unbalance the game and or gameplay, use them at risk to your own enjoyment.
Roads
Movement: Units moving along roads gain one additional hex of movement, as long as their *entire* movement is along the road. This extra hex of movement is optional, but if used it must be used on a road. Units starting in a town/building hex are considered on a road for the sole purpose of starting a move from a road.
Battle: Any infantry, cavalry or artillery unit on a road is attacked with one additional die. Generals are not affected (assume the general and his staff represent a small, fast target compared to a regular unit.) Terrain restrictions apply to battle die rolls. (I have designed road hexes that go through wood and hill terrain. Attacking units on them would negate the extra die bonus. So, for example, attacking an infantry on a forest road hex from an adjacent hex would give you 4 dice; 4 for adjacent, +1 attacking a unit on a road, -1 attacking a unit in woods.)
Line of Sight: Roads do not block line of sight. Roads through terrain such as woods or hills do block line of sight.
Forest Road
Movement: Units moving along a forest road gain one additional hex of movement, as long as their *entire* movement is along any type of road. This extra hex of movement is optional, but if used it must be used on a road.
Battle: Any infantry, cavalry or artillery unit attacked on a forest road (from any direction) is attacked as though it were a clear hex (one less die for forests, one more die for road). Lone Generals are not affected, and are attacked as normal. Units attacking from a forest road hex roll one less die. Units may attack the turn they entered a forest road hex if they used road movement this turn.
Line of Sight: Forest Roads block line of sight
Sunken Roads
Movement: Units moving along a sunken road gain one additional hex of movement, as long as their *entire* movement is along any type of road. This extra hex of movement is optional, but if used it must be used on a road.
Battle: Any infantry, cavalry or artillery unit attacked on a sunken road (from any direction) is attacked with two less dice. Artillery may not attack from a sunken road. Generals are not affected, and are attacked as normal.
Line of Sight: Sunken Roads do not block line of sight.
Hill Road
Movement: Units moving along a hill road gain one additional hex of movement, as long as their *entire* movement is along any type of road. This extra hex of movement is optional, but if used it must be used on a road.
Battle: Any infantry, cavalry or artillery unit attacked on a hill road (from any direction) is attacked as though it were a clear hex (one less die for forest, one more die for road). Lone Generals are not affected, and are attacked as normal. Units attacking from a hill road hex roll one less die.
Line of Sight: Hill Roads block line of sight
Lakes (Ponds)
Movement: No units may enter or cross a lake terrain hex.
Line of Sight: Lakes/Ponds do not block line of sight.
Swamp/Marshes
Movement: Units entering a swamp/marsh hex must end their movement. Artillery may not enter or retreat into a swamp/marsh hex. Units may not attack the turn they enter a swamp/marsh hex.
Battle: Units attacking from a swamp/marsh hex roll one less die. When attacking a unit in a swamp/marsh hex, normal rules apply.
Line of Sight: Swamp/marsh hexes block line of sight. (Much like fields with high grass and reeds)
Railroads (so far I haven't made or used any of these tiles)
Movement: No special rules
Battle: Any infantry, cavalry or artillery unit attacked on a railroad hex (from any direction) is attacked with one less die. Generals are not affected, and are attacked as normal.
Line of Sight: Railroads do not block line of sight.
Walls
Use fence hexes to represent Walls. The same rules as walls apply.
Notes on Entrenchment tiles: You may not place an entrenchment tile on any type of road, swamp, lake, or railroad hex. Per the rules, you may place them on forest, hills, fences (walls), and even buildings (though no extra benefit is derived from placing them on buildings).
RULE EXPANSIONS
Warning: Use of rules below should be agreed upon by both players prior to starting the game. They require the use of special dice. Note: I own 2 sets of Battle Cry. Using extra stickers and dice, I have created special dice listed below.
Optional Rule -- Rally: Instead of playing a card or discarding useless cards, you may opt to rally one unit not at full strength. In order to rally, a general must be attached to the unit and the unit may not be adjacent to any enemy units (enemy generals are OK). You may not rally above the scenario start size of the unit. To rally, roll two rally dice for the unit you are attempting to rally. For each of your flag rolled (Union or Confederate), you may replace one unit up to the starting size of the unit. For each enemy flag rolled, you must fall back one space using normal retreat rules. This could result in regaining two units, one unit and falling back one space, or no units and retreat two spaces.
Optional Rule -- Charges: A unit may only charge if it has a general, at least two figures in the unit (not counting the general), and is attacking an enemy unit from an adjacent space. Artillery may not charge. Normal terrain rules apply. Units may not initiate a charge from a field, orchard, stream, or swamp hex. Charges may not be conducted on lone generals. If conducting a charge, determine the number of dice to be used in the attack. You then have the option of replacing two dice with Charge Dice. If three retreat flags are rolled in the attack, the following occur after normal casualties are removed:
If attack was on artillery, and one figure remains, you have captured the enemy guns. Take the flag and replace the unit with one of your own artillery figures (not unit) with a flag.
If attack was on infantry or cavalry, you may advance into the vacated space following their retreat. If they are destroyed due to retreat rules, you may still advance if desired.
If there was an attached enemy general, you may roll one assault die to see if he is killed.
Any remaining units must now retreat per the retreat rules.
Optional Rule -- Rear Assault -- If you attack an enemy unit from a position opposite one of your other units (not a lone general), you may opt to roll two "Assault Dice" in place of two regular dice. Note: this simulates chewing up the enemy from the rear with no place to retreat. This is a difficult position to obtain and should also be guarded against. Your other unit opposite the enemy does not have to attack this turn to gain the bonus dice choice.
SPECIAL DICE
A Charge die has two retreat flags, one cavalry, one artillery, two infantry, one crossed swords.
An Assault die has one cavalry, one artillery, two infantry and two crossed swords (no retreats).
Rally die has three Union flags and three Confederate flags.
Die Notes: These dice merely increase the odds of rolling a needed hit in a rear assault, or forcing a retreat during a charge to get special bonuses. The rally is an interesting option in addition to the rally card in the deck. Note that units rallied via dice cannot attack the turn they rally.
THE BIG BOARD BATTLEFIELD
With two sets, I have combined the two boards to create a huge battlefield. I scanned the board, and created 13 additional clear hexes to cover the areas where the boards overlap. With all the additional terrain hexes, along with the ones I've made above, you can make one helluva battle.
PLAYER AIDS
There is a link to a nice player aid card posted by Michael Fitzgerald. It can be found at HYPERLINK http://www.grognard.com www.grognard.com or HYPERLINK http://www.neonate.gor www.neonate.org . It cuts down to card size nicely and fits into an ultra pro card protector just fine. (I've got all my cards in sleeves to protect them).
DISCLAIMER
The optional rules and/or additions to the game are not endorsed by Richard Borg or Avalon Hill. The original intent of the designer and Avalon Hill was to keep the game as simple as possible to reach the widest audience. The inclusion of additional rules may complicate the game. The BattleCry game, rules, and trademark are the property of Hasbro. Any changes presented here are to enhance game play for those who are interested. Thank you. Walt Mulder 3 June, 2000

Benutzeravatar
Matthias Staber

re: Battle Cry: Errata

Beitragvon Matthias Staber » 23. Juli 2000, 14:21

OFFICIAL ERRATA/FAQ V1.04
General FAQ’s
Q: Some scenarios include special rules for horse artillery, which has a "maximum range of 4 hexes." Does this change only affect the range, or does it also affect the strength of the attack at close ranges? I.e., does horse artillery have a strength of 5, 4, 3, and 2 dice (at 1, 2, 3, and 4 hex range), or does it have a strength of 4, 3, 2, and 1? I assume the answer will also apply to the VMI cadets at New Market who also have a reduced range.
A: -- This isn't as clear as it should be. The range on horse artillery is 4 and the dice are 4/3/2/1. Yes, the same logic applies for the VMI cadets, 3/2/1.
Q: Terrain restrictions are supposed to be ignored when retreating. Does this mean a retreating unit may enter or pass through a normally impassable rough terrain hex?
A: -- A unit may not retreat onto or through a hex with impassable terrain.
Q: Does an Infantry or Cavalry on a hill have its line of sight blocked when attacking over a unit (any unit friendly or enemy) in an adjacent hex on lower/non LOS blocking terrain? The rules state that an artillery unit may fire over a friendly unit or General in an adjacent hex.
A: -- Infantry or Cavalry on a hill may not fire over friendly units. Only artillery, on a hill hex, may fire over a friendly unit in an adjacent hex to the hill. Therefore, their line of sight would be blocked.
Q: Can two (or more) Field Works be built in the same hex? The rules are not specific on this and I allow two or more to be built if you can play the right cards to do so. This simulates the construction of a fort, or entrenchment.
A: -- The "Construct Field-Works" text reads ... Place a Field-works token on 2 different hexes (if allowed) that are occupied by your units... Therefore if you are lucky and get the "Construct Field-Works" card twice in a game, you may build your fort.
Q: Is a Waterway Bridge Hex considered a Waterway Hex?
A: -- Yes. This prevents Field Works from being constructed on Waterway Bridge hexes. Also, a Field-Work piece will not fit properly on Waterway Bridge hex without covering some of the water due to bridge position. Therefore, a Field Works may NOT be built upon a Waterway Bridge Hex.
Q: Can you opt to eliminate a figure rather than retreat off the map board if forced to do so?
A: -- No. If the unit (and/or general) is forced to retreat off the battlefield (by virtue of being attacked while it is in the last row), the unit (and/or general) is eliminated.
Q: Can a unit, issued an order, attack without moving?
A: -- Yes. From the rules... You may move units you've ordered...The key words here, as you have already noted, are "may move".
Q: What happens when you reach the end of the Command Card deck?
A: -- Re-shuffle the cards in the discard pile and continue playing. Since the discard pile is reshuffled into the deck whenever "All-Out Offensive" card is played, this shouldn't happen all that often.
Q: The Sunken Road in the Antietam scenario. Is the number of battle dice reduced by two for attacks from any direction, or is the terrain treated like a fence section for defense benefits?
A: -- No. Treat the sunken road, like a fence line (see page 10). An attacking unit in front of a sunken road (fence line) will have to reduce the number of battle dice rolled by 2.
Q: Can a lone General occupy the shaded area to count for a lost Union flag?
A: -- No. The rules refer to "units" and "Generals" as being separate things. The special rules for Shiloh say a "unit" has to occupy a shaded hex to count as a Union flag lost.
Q: Does attaching a general to a unit allow it to fire one hex further?
A: -- No. Attaching a general only allows you to roll one extra die, not extend the range of attack.
Q: The movement of units through hexes with a lone general, and lone generals through hexes with units is confusing me. Would you please clarify what I can and can't do regarding this?
A: -- To sum this all up... A unit or general may not move through a friendly or enemy unit hex. Units may move into, but not through, friendly hexes with a lone general; and a lone general may move into, but not through, hexes with friendly units. The exception to this is that a lone general in retreat must move his full retreat distance. It may not stop short. It may move through a friendly unit as long as the unit's hex does not also have a general.
Q: Is an LOS blocked that travels along the edge of the board if the on-map terrain is blocking? The question really becomes what is in the hexes that are just off board. Do you always assume blocking terrain around the entire perimeter of the board?
A -- Yes, in the above situation LOS is blocked. Off board hexes or those around the edge are considered as blocking terrain for LOS purposes.
Q: Can you play a card on an area (flank) when there are no units there to be ordered (whether or not you have other playable cards in hand)? Basically, can you play an "unplayable" card?
A -- Yes. SEE ERRATA #6 BELOW

Card FAQ’s
Q: FORCE MARCH - Suppose an infantry unit is adjacent to an unattached general and Force March is played (everything in clear terrain). If the infantry unit moves into the general's hex, does the general automatically attach to the unit and move with the unit to the second hex?
A: -- Yes the general attaches. No, the infantry unit cannot keep moving, it must stop.
Q: OUT OF SUPPLY: The "Out of Supply" card forces a unit to retreat to the last row on his side of the board in his section. What if, by some chance, all the hexes in the back row are filled? Does he lose that whole entire unit?
A: --(Changed according to Rob at AH) "We hadn't looked fully at the setups when we made the first ruling. The new ruling is that a unit that cannot make it to the edge of the board is placed as close to the edge as possible." This will usually occur only in the Pea Ridge scenario.
Q: LEADERSHIP: I think the wording of the "Leadership" card could have been clearer. A rules lawyer might argue this card allows an attached general to move and attach to another unit and grant it the battle dice bonus.
A: -- This card is a little confusing.... The original intent of the "Leadership" card was that all generals receive an order. When a general was not attached to a unit, it may move. If he attaches to a unit, the unit may not battle this turn because it was not ordered. When the general is attached... (As written on the card).
Q: HIT AND RUN: Does the "Hit and Run" card to allow a cavalry unit to enter a woods or river hex on the first move then exit (possibly entering a second woods or river hex) on its second move?
A: -- Yes. The intent of this "Hit and Run" card, is to give the cavalry unit two movements on the same card play. Another way to state this is to say a cavalry unit is making two movement turns on this card play. Normal Cavalry movement is one to three hexes. When cavalry enters a terrain hex that halts movement, its movement is stopped. What the "Hit and Run" card lets you do is to make a second move on the same turn. The Cavalry may not battle twice on the turn; it may only battle after its first movement. Of course, it does not need to make a move and may target an enemy in an adjacent hex. After its battle it may make a move. Terrain effects would apply both after the first move or the second move, i.e. if the Cavalry moved into a woods hex on its first move, it could move no further and would not be able to battle either. It may make a second move.
One other note about the "Hit and Run" card. You do not need to run back after an attack. The card's name may imply this but the cavalry may move forward, back or to its flank. For the record, a cavalry unit doesn't have to battle at the end of its first move, to get its second move.
Q: BOMBARD: The "Bombard" special order card allows all your artillery units to move twice or bombard twice. Does "move twice" include the possibility of moving into and out of a woods/waterway/building hex?
A: -- The "Bombard" card allows artillery to battle twice or make two moves. Normal artillery movement is one hex. When artillery enters a terrain hex which halts movement, its normal movement is expended (one hex move). What the "Bombard" card lets you do, is to make a second move on the same turn. It may move into a terrain hex which stops movement and its first move ends. But the card gives it a second movement on the turn. So it may move another hex. The artillery may not battle and move when playing a "Bombard" card.
Q1: COUNTER ATTACK: We've had a couple of different interpretations of the Counter Attack card. Could someone please explain exactly how this card works?
A: -- Simple. You just get to play the same card your opponent just played. Think of the counterattack card as a wild card in poker. The catch is that you have to attack on the same flank he did (if you're duplicating a skirmish, probe, or attack card, that is). For example, if he played an attack card for his *left* flank, you're going to do the same thing on your *right* flank (in other words, the troops who were just attacked are *counterattacking* the units who attacked them). Obviously, if he just attacked in the center, you're going to do the same thing in the center, so no "left-right reversal" is necessary.
Note: If it was the "All-Out Offensive" card issue an order to all units and generals. If it was the "Coordinated Attack" card issue an order to 1 unit or generals in each section.
Q2: COUNTER ATTACK (as applied to specific cards): I play a Counter Attack card following my opponent's Forced March card. He did his force march on his right flank. Do I have to force march my left flank or can I do as the card says and force march any section? (There is no "flank" reference on the Counter Attack card)
A2: -- Yes. On a "Force March" and on a "Fire and Hold Position" card, they both state: "... in one section of the battlefield." The other special order cards do not.
When a "Force March" or "Fire and Hold Position" card is played, the player may choose in which section of the battlefield the card action is taking place. The player must define which section of the battlefield the card is being used for at time the card is played. Therefore, when the "Counter-Attack" card is played right after a "Force March" or "Fire and Hold Position" card, the section to which the counter attack must take place was already determined by your opponent.
Note: The other special order cards do not force a player to make a section of the battlefield choice nor do they state which section the card must be played. Some special order cards just state the type of units ordered (Bombard, Hit and Run, Leadership, and Construct Fieldworks). The units using this special action can be anywhere on the battlefield. Some special order cards just state the cards special action (Rally, Call for Reinforcements, Short of Supply, Sharp Shooter). These actions can also be done anywhere on the battlefield.

ERRATA
In the Fredericksburg scenario, the Union side shows 11 infantry units being deployed, but the game only includes 10 infantry per side.
-- This is a misprint. There is no infantry unit on the lower-right hex (in the river).
The Gaines Mill battle has an error.
--The waterway hex, top row, right side of the battle map (on the union left flank), should be a woods hex, not a waterway hex, and the hex just below should have a waterway hex curving off the edge of the board.
Chickamauga (p.27) is misspelled as Chickamunga in the title scenario.
First Bull Run - Under "Staffing Notes/Union Player" (p.15), the name should be Irwin McDowell.
Fredericksburg - The date of the battle (p.22) is incorrect. The correct date is 13 Dec 1862.
(p. 5) PLAY A COMMAND CARD (paragraph 2) This rule should read... A player may play any card from his hand.
In our original rules we wrote... "It is possible that a player may hold cards that will not be an effective
card to play." Example: A player holds a "Bombard" card but has no artillery units. Or he has no units on this left flank but holds a Probe Left (order 2 units) card. In either case the player may play the card, and do nothing. The intent of this section was to explain that not all cards you hold will always activate units. It was never our intent to have players only play cards that could activate units.

Thanks to the many people on the RGB newsgroup whom have both posted questions and provided their interpretations of the rules.
Special Thanks to Richard Borg who has diligently answered questions about the rules and clarified misunderstandings in an effort to improve game play.
V1.04 Posted and revised by Walt Mulder 3 June, 2000


Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 14 Gäste